Oklahoma State Statutes
Counties/County Clerk is prohibited by law to provide services prior to payment being rendered:
Oklahoma Constitution Article 10 section 17
The Legislature shall not authorize any county or subdivision thereof, city, town, or incorporated district, to become a stockholder in any company, association, or corporation, or to obtain or appropriate money for, or levy any tax for, or to loan its credit to any corporation, association, or individual.
Title 19 Chapter 8 Section 245- Fees For Records
Shall not exceed $0.25 per page or $0.15 per page for providing more than 3,500 pages in an electronic format.
Oklahoma Statute Title 28 § 3, Failure of Officers to Make Reports - Failure to Charge Fees
If any officer neglect or refuse to charge the fees provided by law, the person shall forfeit double the amount thereof to be deducted from the person's salary, or to be collected by civil action against any such officer or bondsman.
Oklahoma Statute Title 28 & Section; 7, Officers to Post List of Fees
Each officer herein named shall cause a list of fees allowed by law to be charged by him, to be posted in his office in some conspicuous place, under penalty of Five Dollars ($5) for each day he shall neglect to do so.
Oklahoma Statute Title 28 & Section; 9, Officer to Receipt for Fees Paid
Every officer charging fees shall give a receipt thereof.
Oklahoma Statute Title 28 & Section; 12, Fees Due When Services Are Rendered - Deposit for Anticipated Costs
No fees allowed by law shall be due or demanded until the services for which such fees are chargeable shall have been performed, provided, however, that the court clerk may require a deposit for anticipated costs.p>
Oklahoma Statute Title 28 & Section; 32.3, Payment of Fees by Debit or Credit Card
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a county clerk may accept payment for fees by automated clearing house or by a nationally recognized debit or credit card. If payment is made by a credit or debit card, the county shall add an amount of the service charge incurred for the acceptance of the payment. A county clerk may enter into contracts for credit card processing services according to applicable county purchasing laws or may enter into agreements with the State Treasurer to participate in any credit card processing agreements entered into by the State Treasurer. County clerks may establish prepaid fee accounts in a manner as prescribed by the Office of State Auditor and Inspector.
Oklahoma Statute Title 28 & Section; 33, Register to Keep Account of Fees
He shall keep an account of said fees in a book provided for that purpose, showing the amount charged and the amount received, from whom and for what purpose, and the date thereof. The footings for each month shall, at the close thereof, be legibly and correctly entered in said book opposite the month during which the same have been collected or charged, showing the amount remaining due and unpaid."
Oklahoma Statute Title 28 & Section; 35, Clerk to Keep Account of Fees
He shall keep an account of said fees in a book to be provided for that purpose, showing the amount charged and the amount received, from whom, and for what purpose, and the date thereof. The footings for each month shall, at the close thereof, be legibly and correctly entered in said book opposite the month during which the same have been collected or charged, showing the amount charged, the amount received, and the amount remaining due and unpaid.
Oklahoma Statute Title 28 & Section; 37, Monthly Accounting by County Clerk and Registrar of Deeds
At each monthly meeting of the board of county commissioners, or, if monthly meetings are not held, at each quarterly meeting, the county clerk and the registrar of deeds shall each file a verified report of the work of the proceeding month or quarter showing the total fees charged and the total fees collected and shall pay all of such fees into the county treasury and file duplicate receipts therefore with the county clerk.
Oklahoma Statute Title 51 & Section; 24A.5 Open and Confidential Records
Any request for a record which contains individual records of persons, and the cost of copying, reproducing or certifying each individual record is otherwise prescribed by state law, the cost may be assessed for each individual record, or portion thereof requested as prescribed by state law. Otherwise, a public body may charge a fee only for recovery of the reasonable, direct costs of record copying, or mechanical reproduction. Notwithstanding any state or local provision to the contrary, in no instance shall the record copying fee exceed $0.25 per page for records having the dimensions of 8.5 by 14 inches or smaller, or a maximum of $1 per copied page for a certified copy.
However, if the request: is solely for commercial purpose, or would clearly cause excessive disruption of the essential functions of the public body, then the public body may charge a reasonable fee to recover the direct cost of record search and copying; however, publication in a newspaper or broadcast by news media for news purposes shall not constitute a resale or use of a record for trade or commercial purpose and charges for providing copies of electronic data to the news media for a news purpose shall not exceed the direct cost of making the copy. The fee charged by the Department of Public Safety for a copy in a computerized format of a record of the Department shall not exceed the direct cost of making the copy unless the fee for the record is otherwise set by law.